Skip to content
7 Comments leave one →
  1. Gregg permalink
    October 5, 2009 1:30 am

    Great info for marketers looking to crack the hipanic social media network. I was unaware of the large number of Hi5 users, but it doesn’t surprise me. Facebook is not the world dominator it appears to be.

    • michelle wicmandy permalink
      October 5, 2009 1:51 am

      I was surprised, too. I thought Facebook was the dominating force.

  2. October 5, 2009 1:39 am

    Great post Michelle. Welcome to the world of Hispanic marketing. There are other social media networks that are very Hispanic oriented such as migente.com which is probably more popular with Hispanics in the East coast.

  3. michelle wicmandy permalink
    October 5, 2009 1:49 am

    I was surprised that Hi5 is in the US but that it’s most popular with those in Latin America. There’s so much to learn.

  4. October 28, 2009 2:44 am

    I know many ppl who use HI5 on a regular basis. Even my 50+ year old aunt is on Hi5. I personally don’t get it, but hey, to each his own.

    I

    • October 28, 2009 4:37 am

      I say whatever works for you to stay connected to your community whether it’s Facebook, MySpace, Hi5, Twitter, etc… That’s great youraunt is using social media. People aged40+ are increasingly using these applications.Part of this is due to children leaving the nestand parents still wanting to check on their children from a distance. Or, perhaps your aunt belongs to a club. Either way, good for her that she’s using these tools to maintain relationships and make new friends.

  5. February 12, 2010 12:40 am

    I know of quite a few people, young and old, in the Dominican Republic who use Hi5, Sonico and Facebook on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

